(SUKAN) Malaysian Invasion 3 Grand Finals Crowned Six New Champions with Malaysia’s First WMMA Champion

Spread the love


Kuala Lumpur – The most electrifying sports event in Malaysia returns for the 3rd installment tonight at Stadium Putra Bukit Jalil, featuring 11-bouts of home grown talents battling it out for the gold, the Tune Talk’s Malaysian Invasion MMA Championship title belt. A property of Tune Talk, Malaysian Invasion Season 3 Grand Finals is the conclusion of a year-long national Mixed Martial Arts (MMA) tournament with the Women’s Pride and Foreign Pride as the newly added division to the existing seven (7) weight classes.


Tonight, we saw the crowning of Malaysia’s first Women’s MMA Champion, making it the first of its kind in South East Asia; also two Champions from MIMMA Season 2 defended their title successfully. Darren Low and Seah Zhang Yu are the largest, and smallest competitors in the organization and both remained champions after Darren defeating his opponent via a Round 1, 13 seconds Technical Knockout while Seah went on a 5-round battle winning a decision with all 3 judges awarding the win to him. 6 new Malaysian Invasion Champions were crowned in total tonight.


MIMMA 3 is also a part of Hari Sukan Negara, an initiative by the Ministry of Youth and Sports lead by YB Khairy Jamaluddin and it has been inducted in the Malaysia Book of Records for “The Most Number of Simultaneously Sport Activities in a Day”. The certificate of recognition was awarded in the MIMMA cage tonight.

Melvin Kho VS Gino Tan for the MIMMA Welterweight

Melvin Kho vs Gino Tan (Welterweight Championship)

Both men wrestled for 3 rounds straight with advantages switching from one to another. Gino started dominating in the 4th and found an opening to initiate a Kimura arm lock that finishes the fight.

Foreign Pride Champion AHMADjon

A Karadech Seesombat VS Ahmadjon Karimov (Foreign Pride Championship)

Seesombat came out strong with full-on muay thai style domination but in a quick turnaround, Ahmadjon landed a perfectly timed punch, knocking out the Thai immediately.

Lightweight Championship Bout hasrul jace

Muhd Hasrul, current champion VS Jace Law (Lightweight Championship)

Both fighters started out taking their time to feel out their opponent because both are known for their knockout power. But Jace had the upper hand when he landed the JKO on Hasrul, finishing the fight. A new Champion rises. His name is JKO..

Middleweight Champio MEERAJ omar

 Meeraj Omar VS Syafiq Jamal (Middleweight Championship)

Meeraj and Syafiq both started trading strikes until Syafiq shot for a takedown. Meeraj reversed and caught Syafiq in a dominating ground and pound, stopping the Showtimer early in the first round.

Featherweight Championship bout AIMAN

Muhammad Aiman Vs Hafizul Hakim (Featherweight Championship)

Aiman came in guns blazing taking over the fight completely. Hafizul was defenseless when Aiman took his back and executed ground and pound from the back. Hafizul tapped out due to ground strikes.

Flyweight title, Seah Zhang Yu

Seah Zhang Yu, current champion vs Dhiaaul Amal (Flyweight Championship)

The lightest weigh division does not mean they should be taken lightly. Dhiaaul and Zhang Yu proves that both of them are the best flyweight in Malaysia. Round by round, exchanging blows and punches. The game changer came in Round 3 as dhiaaul was dazed by a hard jab to the jaw.

Heavyweight Champion, Darren Low

Darren Low, current champion Vs Niker Tan (Heavyweight Championship)

The Kraken didn’t take long to finish the fight. 13 seconds in with a 1-2 combo and Niker Tan is out! He won by submission and this year via KO. A very balanced figther. Darren is still the Malaysian Invasion Mixed Martial Arts Heavyweight Champion.

MIMMA Women's Champion joanna

Joanna Yap Vs Felicia Yunus (Malaysia’s First Female Championship)

Fighting out of established BJJ camps, Felicia and Joanna both took the fight to the ground with Joanna using her strength to overpower Felicia throughout the match. Felicia fought back with a number of strikes but did not manage to weaken Joanna. The fight went all the way to the end.


Celebrity Match: Arnold Loh (Hitz Morning crew) vs Ryan Matjeraie (Hitz Night Out)

Both fighters are very popular for throwing words around but tonight they learn a different meaning to the word hits.


Not to be underestimated, they traded leather in a fairly balanced match.


A very intense 3rd round with a hint of comical energy which lead to the judges’ decision.


Nazri Sutari vs Hui Keng Fai (Singapore vs Malaysia)

Both fighters are well known for being striking experts. Nazri came from a background in fencing and muay thai and Keng Fai is a boxer. It begins with a very back and forth striking match between the Malaysian and Singaporean. Nazri shoots for a takedown and landed it successfully. Keng Fai stood back up almost immediately. Nazri shot again. Keng Fai reverses to a top position and continued with a dominating ground and pound which transitioned into a guillotine. Nazri stood back up with the guillotine still in. Keng Fai completes the submission and Nazri taps.


Theeban Govindasamy vs Adrian Tham (East vs West)

Govindasamy is a karate expert with an amateur record of 3-2. Tham is a BJJ fighter, fighting out of Sabah.  He was the MIMMA Season 1 Heavyweight champion and the current Welterweight defending champion. Tham’s  experience and skills on the ground was quite obvious throughout the fight and he gained cage control with them but Govindasamy’s striking skills cannot be dismissed. These skills, leveraging his height advantage, his quick transitions on the ground and his takedown defence were commendable.


Official Fight Results:

East vs West    : Adrian Tham def. Theeban Govindasamy via Unanimous Decision

SG vs MY           : Hui Keng Fai (MY) def. Nazri Sutari (SG) via Submission (Standing Guillotine) R1 2:02

Hitz.fm Match                : Ryan (Hitz Night Out) def. Arnold (Hitz Morning Crew) via Split Decision


Main Card: Malaysian Invasion 3 Championship Bouts

Women’s Pride : Joanna Yap (Sarawak) def. Felicia Yunus (Sabah) via Unanimous Decision

Joanna Yap is now first Malaysian Invasion Women’s Champion

Heavyweight   : Darren Low (Sabah) def. Niker Tan (Penang) via TKO (Punches) R1 0:13

Darren Low remains the Malaysian Invasion Heavyweight Champion

Flyweight          : Seah Zhang Yu (Penang) def. Dhiaaul Amal (KL) via Unanimous Decision

Seah Zhang Yu remains the Malaysian Invasion Flyweight Champion

Featherweight                : Mohd Aiman (Negeri Sembilan) def. Hafizul Hakim (Sabah) via TKO (Punches) R1 1:56

Mohd Aiman is the new Malaysian Invasion Featherweight Champion

Middleweight : Muhd Meeraj (KL) def. Syafiq Jamal (KL) via TKO (Punches) R1 2:15

Muhd Meeraj is the new Malaysian Invasion Middleweight Champion

Lightweight     : Jason Law (Sarawak) def. Muhd Hasrul (Selangor) via KO R1 2:17

Jason Law defeated Season 2 champion and is now the new Malaysian Invasion Lightweight Champion

Foreign Pride   : Ahmadjon Karimov (Tajikistan) def. A.Karadech Seesombat (Thailand) via KO R1 0:39

Ahmadjon Karimov is now first Malaysian Invasion Foreign Pride Champion

Welterweight  : Gino Tan (Penang) def. Melvin Kho (Sarawak) via Submission (Kimura) R4 2:08

Gino Tan is the new Malaysian Invasion Welterweight Champion

For the first time in history the MIMMA 3 Grand Finals was shown live on a free network; RTM 1 (Astro Ch101). All previous shows for Malaysian Invasion Season 3 can be viewed for free at www.malaysianinvasion.com.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *